Zachariah focuses his practice on water and wastewater utility matters and the representation of various utilities and local governmental entities. He advises water districts, water supply corporations and cities on most all matters regulated by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the Public Utility Commission.  His practice also spans numerous areas of law including open government, personnel matters, procurement, utility rate cases, service agreements, non-standard retail water service agreements, annexations, licensing and regulation of public rights-of-way and ordinance drafting. Zachariah also represents land developers seeking entitlements.

Zachariah also has nearly a decade of legislative experience, having served various roles for members of both parties and in both houses of the Texas Legislature. As Deputy Director of the Texas House of Representatives Select Committee on Federal Economic Stabilization Funding, he provided specialized guidance and recommendations on the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, working directly with state and federal legislators, executive agencies, and White House personnel to determine Recovery Act implications. He is the co-editor of Texas Senate Practice (2015, 2017 eds.)

Zachariah graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a bachelor’s degree in Government. He earned a Doctor of Jurisprudence at The University of Texas School of Law. During law school, he served as a law clerk for Judge Guy Herman, presiding judge of the Travis County Probate Court.

Zachariah served on active duty in the United States Marine Corps from July 1998 to July 2003, during which time he was awarded multiple Certificates of Commendation and the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal, among others.

  • Texas Bar Association
  • Association of Water Board Directors
  • Texas Rural Water Association
  • Austin Symphony BATS
  • Austin History Center Association
  • Texas City Attorneys Association
  • Texas Municipal League Legislative Policy Committee, Member (2017)
  • Texas Municipal League Resolution Committee, Member (2017)
  • Texas First Foundation Board Member (2009-2012)